“Doing an enjoyable activity with a child can develop better skills and more creativity than reading. To what extent do you agree? Use reasons and specific examples to explain your answer”

It is argued that children can obtain more knowledge and creativity from entertainment instead of books. I completely agree with this statement because learning in a pleasurable way is easier to keep children ’s interest and different activities contribute them to becoming over-rounded people. One primary benefit of mastering skills by attending enjoyable events is that it is easier to become a long-term habit. Entertainment such as watching television or playing crosswords can not only subtly improve youngsters' language skills, but the joy they feel during the involvement can lead to long-term attendance. For example, many young people in North Europe possess a great level of English due to the high frequency of accessing English-speaking resources like American dramas and talk shows from an early age. Besides, in China, an increasing number of teenagers claim that they are able to master Japanese painlessly through many years watching of Japanese animation. Another merit of engaging in multiple activities is that it helps children to develop different skills and become over-rounded. Reading is considered a good method to improve children ’s literacy skills and expand their academic horizons. However, it is also important to cultivate other practical skills such as communication, cooperation and creativity from other events. For instance, it is often to see children who participate in group sports like football and volleyball are often more successful in their school work because they appear to be more confident with high self-esteem than their mates and have more interesting ideas towards their work. In conclusion, I agree that compared with the limited benefit of reading, participating in interesting activities can help children to develop better skills and creativity, because the joy these games can bring would extent children ’s interests and lead to an over-rounded development.