In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to the cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many nations worldwide, people who live in the countryside are moving to the urban, making the population in rural areas decrease. I believe that this is a negative change because it would cause the city too crowded a place to live in and the lack of people in the countryside may lead to a vast land being abandoned. A large number of rural people moving to the cities could bring about negative effects since it results in overpopulation in big cities. Due to the fact that modern cities provide higher living conditions and more job opportunities are offered here, more rural people are deciding to settle down here in the hope of finding a potential and highly-paid occupation. However, only a limited amount of food, materials and space are available in certain areas but the number of people continues to grow which is not only the main cause of the increase in competitive job vacancies but also results in costly expenses. For example, in New York - which is one of the biggest and most crowded cities in the world, people have to spend a large sum of money to rent a flat and to buy food since the demands here are enormous and huge expenditures are needed to meet up these needs. Another reason why people heading for urban areas is a negative development is that land in the countryside will be left useless and this appears to be a waste. If more and more people choose to travel to cities, they will leave their land behind and they are abandoned for a long period of time. This might cause their property to be destroyed and no longer usable in the future. For instance, if the land and houses are not carefully taken care of for years, they would be damaged badly in virtue of severe weather conditions or when trees grow there, it would be difficult for houses to be constructed on that land. In conclusion, although cities are convenient and comfortable places to live in, too many people moving there from the countryside could lead to overpopulation in some areas and a large land in the rural areas would be left disuse which appears to be an extremely waste.