The use of social media, e.g. Facebook and Twitter, is replacing face-to-face contact for many people in everyday life. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

It is undeniable that social media plays a big part in people's everyday life. One uses social media in various ways such as contacting, working, and connecting with other people. With the benefits of efficiency and convenience, I consider social media usage as the superior channel of communication which its advantages outweighs that of the traditional offline communication. First of all, those online platforms widen people's chances in many aspect of their life. People can communicate right away without any conditions, especially when distance is the issue. Therefore, there are more chance for one to get into his dream university abroad, or meet new friends worldwide. Moreover, using social media as a medium also enchance productivity. In workplace, for instance, the boss can reduce employee's time for meeting onsite by implementing online meeting instead; this makes employees have more time to work on their responsibilities instead of stucking sticking in traffic on their way to face-to-face meeting. On the other hand, the face to face communication also have values that cannot be completely replaced by digital mediums. Lack of understandings and empathy often occur when one communicates mostly via social media, which offline communication doesn’t have this issue much. When one completely see other people ’s expressions and body language, one tends to develop sense of connection and deep understanding. As a result, the usage of social media might not be successful in dating. Finding love needs high level of intimacy and trusting that only chatting is not enough. To sum up, even though social media platforms has some drawbacks of less connections in romantic relationships, the benefits of online channels still outweigh its disadvantages. Technology created social media for people to be capable with the globalization as well as the borderless world. These developments of online tools helped one to catch up with their chances and conveniences the flow of communication.