Some students take one year off between finishing school and going to university, in order to travel or to work. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh the disadvantages?

Few scholars visit different nations around the world either to explore new cities or to make a career in the time period between completing their secondary level and joining college. There are both advantages and disadvantages to such activities. This essay will outline some pros of travelling before going to the university and explain a few cons of such activity. On the first hand, knowledge limited to course books is not everything these days, especially for today's kids. New generations are widely exposed to many new technologies such as mobile phones and computers where they get more than enough information regarding every single thing that goes on not only in their own land but also in the earth and the universe. So, by such things, they build up strong curiosity and want to learn new things every day. Further, by travelling to new places they get a chance to understand varieties of views and ideas that can help them in their future. Also, these people can chase their area of interest for instance: if one is interested in plants then they can visit famous botanical gardens. Similarly, if they are interested in great innovations then they can travel to big technical centres of the U.S.A, the U.K and many other countries. On the other hand, keeping gaps between studies can create problems in their career in future. In a world full of competition, taking a year's break is not a small matter. At the time of job interviews explaining that off time a travelling period will not be a valid excuse. Also, one has to suffer for getting good employment with a handsome salary. Moreover, travelling for one whole year is not a great idea as an individual can get a habit of visiting new areas frequently and ultimately lose interest in studies. In addition, they can also get settled in foreign nations and forget about getting back to their family. To sum up the above statements, there are many benefits of travelling and visiting new sites. However, there are also a few drawbacks that can adversely affect their education and career.