Some people think that the main factors influencing a child’s development these days are things such as television, friends, and music. Others believe that the family still remains more important. Discuss both opinions and give your opinion.

In this current world, bringing up a child is a huge responsibility. While some people believe that family has the main role, I side with those who think there are other important contributing factors. On the one hand, it could be argued that children's development could be hugely affected by parents. The favours of this idea claim that children spend lots of their lives at home with family members, observing their behaviours, listening to how they communicate with each other, and how they respect others. For example, children who do not have parents and have to live in a foster home could have many emotional problems and their personalities would be completely different which shows how family has a huge role in children's development. Another reason is the pure love that is hidden in parents' actions. This passion affects our subconscious and changes our characters. Back to the earlier example, the foster kids might see or hear some kind gestures or words, but they do not feel it, and most of the time they complain of lack of affection because the source of that behaviour is not true passion. Thus the families' affections could change the children's personalities. On the other hand, I side with those who believe that other factors, outside of the home, have more effects on offsprings growth. It is a fact that our era is different from the earlier centuries. Today everybody, including children, has a smartphone or laptop which makes them occupied. For instance, my 10 years old after coming home, just asks for some food, and then he goes to his room and talks and plays video games on the computer. There is not any time for us to chat and communicate about different subjects. Moreover, friends can affect each other very easily. Usually, children mimic the behaviours of friends that they admire, even if it is a negative one, such as smoking. To summarize, the family can impact children's personalities due to spending time and their pure love for their children, but other factors have more effects since technology had taken more time for children with endless available information on it. Therefore, on balance, I believe children's development is determined by outside factors.