Some people believe that individuals are responsible for their happiness, while others argue that it is related to factors from personal life. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Talking about happiness, many arguments believe people should take responsibility for their own, whereas others suppose elements in life can affect it. To some extent, people can make themselves happy, but from my perspective, external factors have the main influence on their feelings. To begin with, people can be happy by their own thoughts. The main reason is human beings have the freedom of thinking, and happiness can be defined their thought. If someone believes that he lives in a satisfying environment, he is more likely to remain his own happiness. If not, he tends to remain negative feelings such as melancholy, trauma and anxiety. Man studies indicate that humans can change their emotion by changing their own thoughts. Another significant reason is people usually do not have the ability to change their surroundings, while changing their mindset seems more simple. Consequently, people are likely to change what they think about and adapt the environment they are existing. For example, when traffic congestion happens in rush hours, drivers cannot talk to other people to give them space because roads belong to public possession. Instead, he can think that traffic congestion is an opportunity to enrich his knowledge for his occupation and life, so he can restrict his negative emotion caused by the issue. It is certain that he can feel happier when facing to the problem at the next times. Nevertheless, external factors play a more important role in the happiness of people. It should be understood that human beings are logical in every situation. Not all people can think about problems in a multilateral way. In addition, happiness is just one of plenty of human emotions, while there are a great deal of problems people have to face to. Thus, people cannot feel content just by thinking the positive side of trouble. Furthermore, people cannot be tolerant in every circumstance. If they have issues at first, probably they are able to remain their happy emotion. Nonetheless, if trouble happes happen frequently or it is not thoroughly solved, humans are more likely to get upset, traumatic and anxious instead of satisfied. To exemplify, traffic congestion is an enormoous problem. If a driver runs into it at the first time, he can still maintain his own happiness. Notwithstanding, if the congestion happens almost every day or in many hours each day, the driver tend to have complaints about it rather than keep feeling satisfied. In conclusion, people can decide whether they are content or not, but their happiness is mainly the result of effects from their surroundings.