Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the development of digital technology, some children's daily usage of their smartphones can be easily seen. This is because they can communicate with their friends and entertain themseleves by watching videos or playing games. In my opinion, children's frequent smartphone using is a negative trend. This essay will deliver children's health issues and a lack of sociality in support of this stance. Firstly, the increase of children's smartphones usage leads them to a sedentary lifestyle, which negatively affects their health. The more time children use their electronic devices, the less time they spend engaging in physical activities. For example, children mostly tend to sit down or lie down while using the devices, staying at the same spot such as their bed or couch. In other words, they rarely use their muscles and spend energies when they play with digital technologies, resulting in a lack of exercise which is essential for their physical development. Moreover, the online communication limits the opportunities to develop children's social skills. Even though they can text to their friends and make video calls to have chats, it is obvious that they are not able to build strong relationships which they can obtain by participating in the collaborative social activities in real lives. This is because they can not have chances to feel other's emotions closely and have physical interactions which enhance their sociality. Therefore, I strongly argue that children's daily usage of smart phones is a negative development affecting their physical development and soical capabilities, while there are several advantages that smartphones bring to children's lives, such as entertainments.