An increasing number of professionals, such as doctors and teachers, are leaving their own poorer countries to work in developed countries. What problems does this cause? What solutions can you suggest to deal with this situation?

The primary goal of many people is to provide for their families. However, for poorer nations, what that often means is that many experienced professionals end up seeking a better life in the more developed nations. Though this can cause problems there are measures to mitigate the issues that arise. The main problem of this exodus of workers is that the poorer countries often lose their top specialists and are left with novices. These professionals often have the skills and ideas to significantly boost the economy, which is important to improve the standard of living of its residents. The loss of these workers is why developed countries keep improving while the poorer countries remain stagnant. Aside from the brain drain, the other issue is the lack of needed personnel. With so many people exiting the country or leaving their jobs to fulfil the requirements to work abroad, there is often a void in the workplace. For example, in many developing countries, hospitals and schools are often understaffed, causing a decline in services. Though such problems have been going on for quite some time, there are plausible solutions. The first is to offer what the migrating professionals are looking for: proper compensation and benefits. Doing this will require a lot of coordination and possible tax breaks to make things work, but the results will be well worth it if the talented and experienced workers can stay. The second solution is to prevent workers from leaving until they have served the country for several years. Thus, should the experts go, at least the people left behind will not be fresh graduates anymore. Most governments spend much on their citizens' safety and basic needs and, therefore, it is right that the workers first contribute to their economy before being allowed to leave. In summary, while it is good that the global economy requires workers from all corners of the world, it is not ideal that poorer countries suffer because of it. The public and private sectors need to work together to mitigate this problem before it is too late.