International travel brings benefits to travellers and the countries visited, but it also harms for the environment. Do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

Thanks to the technological advance of transportation means and the decrease in global insecurity, it has become easier to travel around the world. Some people say that this phenomenon has a negative influence on the local environment. However, it seems that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages for the following reasons. Most importantly, tourism influences the local economy in a positive way. This is because visitors spend enormous amount of money on accommodation, food, transportation services, and sightseeing. As a result, a lot of jobs are nurtured and the problem of unemployment is addressed. Moreover, the government can use that money to preserve heritage sites. This is a pivotal activity in order to convey the culture to the next generation. Another reason is that tourism itself enriches the life of the traveler. Visitors can broaden their horizons and learn different points of view by communicating with people of different backgrounds and cultures. On the other hand, proponents of international tourism claim that this global tendency is destroying the scenery of local areas. For instance, a lot of Japanese people were against that Mountain Fuji was nominated as an official world heritage site by UNESCO. This is because they were concerned that will enhance tourism and result in an increase in garbage which can destroy the environment. It is true to some extent but with the cooperation of NPO and the government, this problem is likely to be addressed. In conclusion, it appears that global tourism has a positive effect not only on the economy and cultural transmission of local communities but also for tourists. Furthermore, the disadvantages of global tourism can be tackled by local communities.