Today, people in many countries can live and work anywhere they choose, because of improved communication technology and transport. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Thanks to technological innovations such as the internet, wireless telephony and faster modes of transport, individuals can now live and work in any part of the globe. In my opinion, the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages. To begin with, there are certainly many benefits to being able to live and advance their careers anywhere. First of all, folk have more choices of jobs because of technological advances. Not only can they do business from any part of their home country, but they can also perform for any company in any part of the world through telecommuting. Gone are the days when individuals had to be physically present in the office. Now from the comfort of their home, they can serve clients living on other continents. In addition, modern wireless technology has also made jobs easier and created more time for self and family. Better still, people can lessen their work hours and still accomplish their tasks more efficiently and with less effort. The transport sector has also seen revolutionary changes. Thanks to services like the metro, travel time has been reduced considerably. This has also enabled folks living in the countryside to operate in cities. Earlier people had to move to cities to find employment there. Now they can live in the serene countryside and still have a promising career in the city. This has decreased the overcrowding of cities and made them more liveable. Nevertheless, there are some downsides to being able to live and work anywhere. This flexibility and convenience have actually made those physically inactive and led to some health problems. In addition, it has made individuals dependent on automation. In fact, life now comes to a standstill in the event of a network failure or system breakdown. However, these minor drawbacks are negligible when we consider the benefits. To conclude from the aforementioned discussion, while it is true that advancement in technology has led folk to a sedentary lifestyle, the overwhelming evidence suggests that it is a minor drawback, in comparison to the multitude of benefits offered by innovations.