In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In recent years, many rural people have travelled to live in cities, and the population in the suburbs, towns and villages has significantly decreased. From my point of view, this phenomenon has more negative impacts on civilization and development than benefits. On the one side, when rural residents move to cities it causes many problems such as increasing population density in cities, which leads to increased garbage that cannot be managed by the government. To illustrate this, New York City’s population density is around 20 million residents, and also it has the highest rate of rubbish pollution in streets around the whole city, according to that the authorities cannot manage this large number of rubbish every day. On the other side, overpopulation in cities has a negative effect on the labour market. People move to cities because they want a good chance of getting jobs and facilities which are overcrowded lead to unemployment and could lead to serious problems in the future. For instance, Delhi, the capital city of India has the largest unemployment rate reaching 90% due to population density Indian people recently suffered from poverty and famine. In conclusion, the majority of rural residents are moving to cities which leads to the population in rural areas dropping dramatically. However, from my perspective that has the downside risks because urban population density causes serious problems such as pollution and unemployment, thus the collapse of civilization.