Write about the following topic: Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is widely accepted that technology has transformed the way people, particularly children, think and live in many recent years. One of these changes is associated with the huge amount of time that kids use to spend on their handsets such as smartphones. Obviously, there are some important factors behind this. In my opinion, the drawbacks of such an issue outweigh its positive aspects. To begin with, the extreme availability and easy exposure to such modern devices can be determined as the most probable causes of this issue.The fact that smartphones have become one of the most convenient and affordable sources of entertainment cannot be denied. This is because, the majority number of children all around the world have access to the latest well-designed smartphones manufactured by big companies with the intention of developing their market in conjunction with making more credible profit regardless of the age, gender and living area of their customers. The recent statistics in the UK, for instance, have illustrated that 25% of smartphone owners are aged between 8 to 12 years which means losing such a proportion of users is equal to a remarkable reduction in sales figures. In addition to that, the epidemic of social platforms as well as a broad range of practical and enticing applications is another reason that children tend to embrace their smartphones instead of pursuing physical and familial activities since not only do these virtual applications seem more appealing to them but also they can be more productive and practical in terms of improving their knowledge and skills. However, unfortunately, this trend would result in dire consequences. The most fundamental could be that children who spend many long hours on their smartphones will be separated from real social life. As a result, they would not learn adequate communication skills which is a necessary part of the self-development process in compulsory societies. Furthermore, If children engage in such passive hobbies including playing video games and using cell phones, there will be a strong chance for them to fall behind in their studies or fail their exams. In this regard, many recent studies have proven that students who spend too much time on smartphones are often deprived of getting a good education during school time. To sum up, there are significant pieces of evidence demonstrating the free access to smartphones and practical gimmicks and options cellphones companies offer to their young users are the main reasons why pupils are getting involved with smartphones. However, in spite of some negative aspects of this issue such as neglecting real interaction with others and missing a good education, I firmly believe that this trend could be helped only if parents take responsibility to keep an eye on the routine activities of their children.