In the last decade, there has been an increase in the number and variety of online courses available to adults. While welcomed as a great opportunity by many students, other students see these courses as a poor substitute for classroom teaching. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying an online course?

Online education has been a topic of heated debate over the past few years. Although it has numerous advantages that have been widely acknowledged all over the world, there are some major flaws needed to be considered. On the one hand, online education is advantageous in many different ways. First, online studying allows students to have access to a much wider range of knowledge in multiple fields, even from other countries. For instance, if a Vietnamese student is keen on psychology, which is not a developing major in Vietnam, she or he can register for online courses delivered by prominent psychologists from other developed countries like America. Second, learning on the Internet saves people from driving, which can offer a variety of other benefits. In fact, even having an extra half hour of time each day can make a big difference in health and improve overall physical and mental well-being if it is allocated for exercise or physical activity. On the other hand, online studying has a number of downsides. If students study on the Internet, they will be susceptible to distractions, leading to poor academic performance as a result. For example, many children can easily pretend they are listening to teachers lecturing on the screen while they are playing video games or doing something else. In addition, online courses are not accessible to everyone, especially to poor children. In fact, in order to study online, learners are required to have expensive tools, such as computers or mobile phones, and access to the Internet, which are not even available in many poor countries. To summarize, online education is gaining popularity thanks to its various advantages. However, it also has some major disadvantages associated with distractions and accessibility. In my opinion, it should be promoted because we can learn almost everything when we go online.