some feels that individuals should try assimilate compeletly to the country where they live while others feel it is more important to preserve their native culture. Discuss both sides and give you opinion.

Moving to a different country from birth country is relatively popular in today's society. While some people argue that an individual should learn about the country where he or she resides, one might believe that a person should learn his own native culture so that it can be preserved. Before deriving an opinion, I will address the benefit and drawbacks of the above statement. First and foremost, one of the benefits of a person being informed about his or her country of residence is to improve knowledge of diversity. This is because by learning the other culture, a person will have a better understanding of the local way of living without compromising his or her native origin. Take Asian immigrants in Australia for example. There are a lot of Asian immigrants living in Australia. Although their standards of living have been improved in terms of advanced education and healthcare, they still get maintain their original background. They still eat Asian food and shop at oriental stores. Even though there is few benefits to assimilating with the country a person lives in, there is also a drawback. One of the issues of being assimilated with the country of residence is that a person tends to forget his own culture. This is because people are a creature of habit. If a person keeps living in the same manner taught by his country of residence, he will eventually forget his native culture. For instance, in Malaysia, children are taught in Malay culture to greet elders by bowing and kissing the elder's hands. This is not the case in Australia as Malaysian children who grow up in Australia are not exposed to this culture. As a result, they tend to forget this culture and the lesson behind it. In conclusion, upon weighing both benefits and concerns surrounding the above notion, I am of the opinion that a person should adapt to the culture of his or her country of residence while at the same time making an effort to learn the culture of his or her native origin. This is so that the native culture can be preserved for the next generations to come.