The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. Do you agree or disagree?

The use of nuclear power has become the most debatable topic for many years since its conception almost 100 years ago. There are some benefits of this type of power, but its drawbacks for humans’ future cannot be ignored because it has serious detrimental effects on our environment. To begin with, nuclear power produces clean and less costly energy to generate electricity in several rich countries, take France, German and Japan as an example. This type of energy does not create pollution to the atmosphere and is environmentally friendly so it will decelerate the global warming process. Besides, it is considered a renewable resource energy and much more sustainable in the long run to meet human daily needs at affordable prices. By utilizing it, the dependence on fossil fuels will be reduced, and this condition will lead to the earth which is less polluted because the exhaust fumes of engine combustion will decline. By contrast, the usage of nuclear power delivers profound negative impacts on humans’ daily life because they can be used as killer machines to subjugate other countries, such as the destruction of Hiroshima and Nagasaki during World War II. Moreover, if it is not equipped with cutting-edge technology, its leakage power plant will give hazardous effects on the local residents, for example in Chornobyl tragedy in 1986 caused thousands of people to become refugees and they got impacted by radiation which led to many illnesses, for instance, cancer and bronchitis. In conclusion, I contend that the use of nuclear power gives more benefits than its disadvantage, but it has to be used cautiously and equipped with sophisticated technology to minimize the risk of its leakage that threats our environment.