Some students prefer to take a gap year between high school and university to work or to travel. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

There is no denying that delaying university for one year has gained traction in recent years. This essay will shed light on both merits and demerits of this trend before ultimately concluding that the latter is more significant. On the one hand, it is understandable why some people subscribe to the view that deferring enrolment in tertiary discipline would be more advantageous. Proponents of this notion may argue that it will help learners identify their passion. It is often said that one classroom is merely suitable for 30% of students, therefore, the others have to cultivate their skills by witnessing in real life through deferring the enrolment in the tertiary schooling. It is interesting to note that while working or travelling, students could comprehend more about their personalities, thereby not making ignorant career choices. On the other hand, there is a host of compelling reasons why I firmly believe that taking a gap year would do more harm than good. One key rationale is wasting time. This is because there is a wide range of students does not have clear plans before deciding to defer their higher studies. This perception can be reinforced by the fact that instead of spending time building the skillset of relevant jobs, those students could opt for time-consuming activities such as playing video games and others. It would be no surprise that those learners will fall behind their peers after going back to formal learning. Another justification is that lacking financial skills may be an obstacle for gap-year takers. To be specific, a majority of students when taking a gap year are inclined to overuse their total sum of money. Hence, some of them can not keep up with their initial intention till the end. In conclusion, while it is irrefutable that a gap period could bring some pronounced advantages, I would contend that its drawback is more glaring