Everyone should be encouraged to use fewer resources rather than recycle more. To what extent do you agree with this statement?

The modern society is generating an increasing amount of waste. Thus, there have been many environmental issues that have arisen in recent times. While recycling is useful, I am convinced that encouraging resource reduction is more effective in solving environmental problems, although both strategies are important for sustainable development. Overall, recycling is an important tool for sustainable development, especially for materials such as metals and glass, which can be effectively recycled into new products. However, it is not an ideal solution. Regarding some materials, like plastics, their recycling process is quite difficult and takes plenty of time and additional effort. In addition, relying too much on recycling can encourage over-consumption, as people may decide that they can just recycle rather than reduce their use. Therefore, recycling should complement efforts to reduce resource consumption. It is less resource consumption that affects future well-being. If we appropriately use resources, our planet will be safer for future generations. For example, using less plastic and electricity reduces pollution and resource wastage. In contrast, recycling still requires significant energy inputs for collection, processing and transportation, which reduces its overall efficiency. Besides, it should be mentioned that most resources are limited and it takes some time to recover them. As a result, excessive consumption can lead to their rapid disappearance. Hence, reducing resource utilization is a more direct way to protect the environment. To sum it up, both strategies complement each other. Although recycling is important and helps to get rid of waste, reducing resources is considered a more effective way to lower overall pollution and save our environment.