Around the world, rural people are moving to cities and urban areas, so populations in the countryside are decreasing. Is this a positive or negative development?

Rural people ’s migration to cities and metropolitan regions from all over the world has caused the populations in the countryside to decline. From my perspective, this is a negative development. Increased migration to urban areas causes imbalances in the distribution in many parts of countries around the world which will lead to inflation in major cities and urban areas. As a result, people in cities will experience lower quality of living because they have less purchasing power. For example, food insecurity might occur if there are way too many migrants moving in. Furthermore, increased migration to urban areas may lead to imbalances in the distribution of workforces which can result in lack of workers in the countryside and unemployment in the cities. For instance, in many countries, rural areas are often the primary hubs for agricultural activities but if rural people start to migrate to urban areas, it might lead to a shortage of labor in agricultural activities such as farming, livestock management and crop cultivation. Rural flight induces serious social challenges such as the severance of social ties which means elderly people and young children stay behind in the countryside. This means that people who leave also have a decrease in support. For example, the absence of young adults in rural areas means that children grow up without the support and guidance of extended family members such as uncles and aunts. Moreover, rural exodus can lead to the vanishing of small communities which means more bonds are being broken within these communities. In conclusion, I believe the fact that rural people are trying to migrate to urban areas is doing more harm than good as it exacerbates the problems the cities are already facing and it can also lead to social challenges