Some people believe that if people are allowed to buy guns, they will be able to protect themselves and the crime rate can be lower. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The statement "having a gun makes you safer" is highly debated and opinions vary, some think that it lowers the crime rate while others believe that having a firearm does not increase one's safety but quite the opposite. In my opinion weapon ownership doesn' t correlate to an individual's protection. Undoubtedly having a pistol will make a person feel safer, but is this true?, statistics say no, whereas having a cannon doesn' t increase an individual's safety it does enlarge the risk of revolver-related homicides and suicides, to demonstrate, a 2015 study that used data from the FBI and the CDCP reported that firearm assaults were 6.8 times more common than the states with the most cannons than in the least, moreover another investigation from the same date found out that people that had firearms at home were nearly twice as likely to be murdered,unlike the people who didn' t have. Furthermore to dilute the declaration "crime disappears when more law-abiding citizens carry weapons", David Hemenway a professor of health policy at Harvard noted that the presence of more firearms doesn' t stop crime but makes them more violent, “What guns do is make hostile interactions much more deadly,” he said. To conclude despite guns stopping crimes occasionally, they won' t make you safer in general and will just increase your chances of getting hurt or killed.