Nowadays, most countries improve the standard of living through economic development, but some social values are lost as a result. Do you think the advantages of the phenomenon outweigh the disadvantages

Eradicating poverty in all its forms remains one of the greatest challenges facing humanity. While economic development has rescued a great number of populations out of poverty and ensured a higher level of living standard, some consider that this trend leads to the loss of traditional values. In general, I firmly believe that if both pros and cons are considered, the merits of economic development surpass the possible demerits. When the economy grows, more jobs are created, and the resulting income brings in more taxes, allowing more money to circulate in the market. A stable economy provides an advanced standard of public services, such as education and health care. Accessible educational opportunities can improve literacy among the general public, and a developed healthcare system can enhance the quality of life by treating diseases and prolonging life expectancy. What is more, a healthy economy attracts foreign investors. Multinational companies open up new possibilities, and accompanying emerging markets offer new growth and chances. As a result, the gross domestic product of the host country can be boosted since more people are in paid employment, and the consumption expenditure is expected to grow gradually. There is no doubt that some social values are perishing because people today tend to connect happiness with economic status. To them, the lifestyle in modern society is all about consumerism, and they are constantly compromising so many more valuable things only to shop more. It is true that acquiring the money to purchase an expensive item or being able to lead a life of material abundance does make citizens happy, but the exciting feelings only last for a relatively short period of time. What is worse, there are adults who work themselves into an early grave to make money which does not increase satisfaction in the end. In this case, citizens should be reminded of the importance of maintaining social values that can guide their lives. In conclusion, despite the risk of losing traditional values, the process of economic development can bring huge benefits to the inhabitants and the country.