Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Since the advent of industrialization, there has been a significant increase in the number of working hours in many lines of work; therefore, some insist that countries that increase average working time are more economically developed than those that do not. On the whole, I strongly disagree with this viewpoint and believe that extending working hours is likely to lead to severe social consequences in the long run. There is no doubt that long working time is still seen as the norm in many places, such as Cambodia and Myanmar, where large numbers of low-skilled workers have to increase their incomes by working longer hours. They have to work more to make ends meet than people in rich countries such as Switzerland, suggesting that differences in affluence are not due to differences in work ethic. In fact, productivity growth led by technological innovation rather than prolonged working time is the key driver of national income growth. The ideal work -life balance is impossible to achieve if people work long hours. As a result,they do not have the ability to improve their situation, such as getting more education,and so are caught in a vicious circle, which will hinder the improvement of labour productivity. Another serious effect of constantly working overtime is to put people's health at risk. Long working hours make it very difficult for people to maintain a healthy lifestyle such as regular exercise, and people are easily troubled by diseases and psychological problems, or even take themselves to the grave prematurely. To make matters worse, people may find it difficult to maintain a relationship or have and raise children due to limited social interaction and time to be with their families. Consequently, the country's birthrate may gradually decline. In conclusion, I do not believe that a society can prosper because the average working time is long enough; instead, it will endanger the long-term development of the people and the country.