During last twenty years, the assessment of students has undergone a major transformation. Many educational institutions have shifted their focus from traditional examination towards a variety of innovative assessment techniques, as they believe traditional examination results are not often true to student’s ability. To what extent do you agree with this belief? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The traditional methods of testing students are no longer effective. Many educational institutes have come up with innovative and effective ways to test pupils. In my opinion, these new practices are far superior in assessing the students and should be continued. I completely agree with the statement above. Firstly, schools have resorted to oral examinations and presentations. These presentations act as a true barometer for a child's progress as the risk of cheating is completely eliminated. To give a personal example, My history teacher asked us to choose a historical monument for our project and asked us to present it to the entire class on our own. This not only expanded my knowledge but also polished my oratory skills. This method also brought a certain freshness to an otherwise boring subject. Thus,these new assessment techniques should continue as they teach a child more than what is written in the book. Secondly, these newer methods of evaluation teach a young adult about teamwork. Class assignments are a major part of the evaluation in modern institutes. There are so many lessons to be learned from group tasks. To give an instance from my life, I have been part of group projects all my school life. Club projects have taught me lessons like division of work, teamwork and have also made me a good team player. The lessons I learnt from these tasks help me even today. Group projects are a good addition to the old examination system as it also tests how a student works in a team. In conclusion, I believe that the old and archaic examination system should be totally scrapped. These newer methods of evaluation are a bigger challenge for the students and are far more effective. Efforts should be made to promote such kinds of tests in all the more schools.