in the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages?

The advancement of technologies has made several companies capable of creating driverless vehicles. Therefore, it is not unrealistic to assume that in the future all cars possess the capability of driving themselves. There are, however, several positive and negative aspects to such a notion. I believe that the benefits of using driverless cars are more substantial than the drawbacks to it and in this,essay I will try to reason my perspective. The primary advantage of driverless cars is that they can lower the stress and mental hardship of driving. For example, my mother is always stressed about having an accident when she is driving in congested areas or on high-speed freeways. When you are a passenger, such anxieties are baseless. Second, the wide adoption of driverless cars may help the environment through the introduction of car-sharing schemes. For instance, when there is no need to drive a car personally, people might turn to renting cars for their daily commute and the lower amount of cars on the streets will result in lower air pollution and background noise. Hence, driverless cars do have benefits not only for individuals but also for societies. On the other hand, some negative aspects can also be named. First, the main victim of having driverless cars is the sensation of driving. As an enthusiast about cars, one of the main joys is to drive and listen to the sound of the engine. Alas, if cars do not let you drive them in the future, such hobbies are lost. Additionally, some sports events can also be lost. For example, Formula one is one of the most-watched sports on TV and if the driver is omitted, the interest in it will vanish. Subsequently, a culture that has been built around it will be lost. To conclude, the future can be cleaner and less stressful if cars can replace humans with their algorithms. Nevertheless, the price for such a luxury is losing an activity that might help people to unwind, or even sports that are related to it. As far as I am concerned, the advantages of having driverless cars far outweigh the disadvantages. Although I am concerned about the philosophical aspects of it. Driverless cars cannot be held accountable for situations where they have to make a moral decision. As an example, will a driverless car, in the hope to avoid a collision, run over three senior pedestrians or one junior one? These kinds of dilemmas need to be solved for the general populace to be able to trust an AI as a driver.