Topic 7: Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In the globalization era, having the ability to speak a foreign language is a significant skill to integrate into the world. For that reason, lots of parents suggest that children should learn a new language as soon as in primary school rather than in secondary school. This brings both pros and cons. I think the benefits outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, teaching children at a young age has some negative impacts. To begin with, it could affect the ability to learn their mother tongue properly. They might get confused by learning more than one language at the same time, consequently they can’t speak their mother tongue frequently like their peers. Moreover, learning a foreign language may increase stress because they have a heavy schedule at school and their minds are not perfected to learn a lot of things. On the other hand, learning a foreign language when they are young also has many positive impacts. Firstly, learning a new language comes more naturally by trying to mimic what they hear instead of by grammar. This means they can pick up the pronunciation and intonation more easily when they learn them naturally. Secondly, learning a foreign language at a young age is better for children’s future. They will benefit from knowing a foreign language in their upcoming studies or careers as well.  In conclusion, it seems to me that the advantages of teaching children a foreign language at an early age outweigh the disadvantages.