Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In the modern world, some people argue that all students should choose modern and money-making subjects to study like those related to technology, while others opine that pupils are free to decide about their field of study. I believe that independence and self-choice are important rules in human lives and should be respected. On the one hand, many people around the world purpose that students should study in some limited majors. This is rooted in a couple of factors. Firstly, parents are worried about their children’s future life and they want their children to be successful. Therefore, they encourage youngsters to study subjects like medicine or engineering so they can earn money through this and they will be less likely to lose their jobs. For example, if a person knows how to work with AI, he will be needed in every company. Secondly, some people think that studying subjects like art or humanities is pointless and it will not bring any development to society. This opinion is formed because of the economic aspects of life. As an example, if a person is a poet, he will not earn as much money as an engineer does. On the other hand, others have their own reasons to support their attitude related to the freedom of a person to choose their field of study. In social life, the division of social work plays an important role. As one of the most famous sociologists discuss this issue, people are needed to occupy a different position to keep society balanced, so if all students study some specific majors, there will be so many specialized in a field more than what is needed. Moreover, pupils will be more motivated and passionate if they are free to choose whatever they want to study. In other words, if an individual does not feel he is obligated to do something, he will dedicate himself to his work more enthusiastically. To sum up, to decide whether students can choose their future life path freely or not people have different attitudes, but I am of the opinion that humans are born free and they will live on their own choice.