Nowadays, more and more people decide to have children later in their life. What are the reasons? What are the effects of this on society and families?

In current world, more families tend to postpone having children. I believe that this trend roots in both economic and social reasons, and it will have repercussions for the society in various aspects. This increasing trend has several reasons. Firstly, the children’s need vary from the most basic ones like nutrition, medical services or education to more complicated ones such as entertainment or physical well-being which requires a large amount of money, thus, young parents prefer to firm a stable financial status and then making decision to have kids. Secondly, young couples find their marriage really unstable in first years and try to accumulate more parenthood experience to create a healthier and more positive atmosphere for their future offspring. Furthermore, individual’s priorities have altered during past decades. People mostly try to pursue their career and occupation in their younger ages to be well-paid and professional in the future, as a result they have little time for creating family in young ages. This tendency, which is mostly common among young couples, brings about a plethora of consequences for society. Primarily, the more people tend to delay their parenthood, the more fertility issues they face. By reaching elder ages the possibility of giving birth to a healthy child, decreases significantly especially in women. Moreover, the preference to create nuclear and medium-sized families would lead to the lack of young, professional and motivated population to occupy the job vacancies to meet the labor market’s needs as a result, the country’s economic and industrial state would face a crucial issue which requires serious measures to be taken by the government. In conclusion, series of social and economic reasons are engaged with this issue and this trend can lead to catastrophic labor and medical situation for citizens.