Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some intellectuals argue that providing more sporting avenues and equipment would enhance the well-being of the populace. However, another body of opinion has other ideas and feels that more actions need to be taken to achieve this. This essay will critically examine both viewpoints and conclude by citing some potential benefits of constructing more sporting arenas as the basis for my support of the latter argument. Examining the former view, building more play centres would improve people's access to physical fitness facilities, which in turn could improve workers' productivity. By this, I mean that as these centres proliferate, people would be drawn to them for physical exercises and be able to function effectively at their places of work. The World Health Organisation suggests that health promotion is key to economic growth, hence, having more facilities for football, athletics and other play would help to foster this as more and more people would be staying fit, driving economic prosperity. One excellent example of this is Ghana, a country in West Africa that recently institutionalised communal participation in sports. Since the country took this step, the citizens have witnessed a remarkable improvement in their overall health and their economy is better for it. Turning to the argument that merely building more facilities for sports would have only a minimal effect on the health of the population and other steps need to be taken, staying healthy goes beyond simply running around all in the name of exercise. Eating balanced diets, prompt access to quality healthcare and gainful employment with a sumptuous wage would not only ensure a state of complete physical well-being but also mental wellness, with synergistic positive effects on health that far outweigh the singular effect of building more sports complexes. To conclude, despite the well-being benefits of having more sports centres, I am of the opinion that this is not enough to boost public health. Rather, other modalities that encompass healthy eating habits, good jobs and accessible quality health services would better promote the fitness of everyone.