Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as a desert or the Antarctic. What are the advantages and disadvantages of visiting such places.

Since the advent of various means of travelling, tourism has acquired multifarious dimensions. Nowadays, a large number of people are exploring places where the conditions are hostile. Although there are certain advantages associated with this drift like improvement in the economic conditions of such places, the drawbacks such as harm caused to the pristine environment cannot be snubbed. When holidaymakers head to remote locations like the desert or the Antarctic, it assists in boosting the economy of such areas. The foreign exchange brought in by the tourists helps fill up the coffers of public money. Further, in these places, there are not ample opportunities for employment, but this industry ameliorates these circumstances, as it is the harbinger of many jobs. For instance, the tribes of the Sahara Desert are able to pocket a decent amount of money because many offer their services as guides to vacationers. What is more, to support these activities, many hotels, roads and other amenities have been constructed by the government in these regions which were otherwise neglected. These facilities are also utilised by the locals, and hence, they too are benefitted. With that being said, this kind of activity is not without its drawbacks. Firstly, such areas suffer from a dearth of resources, which has been making the situation even worse with the influx of tourists. For example, water is scarce in deserts, and the resource is further depleted when it has to be shared with tourists. Secondly, the very essence of such destinations is that they are immaculate and unblemished due to their arduous circumstances. However, this is disturbed when humans throng these locations in huge numbers and leave them shabby. Zones like the Antarctic and Himalayas are already suffering the effects of man-made pollution which can be attributed to visitors. In the denouement, the surge in the number of sightseers at distant locations has a positive effect of swelling the economy of these areas. Nonetheless, the negative aspects like disturbing the natural ecosystem are too dire to be ignored. I believe there should be restrictions placed on this kind of environment to preserve the natural beauty of these sites.