Some people support the idea of imposing taxes on fossil fuels (oil, coal and gas) in order to reduce energy consumption. Others disagree with this approach. Consider the debate and its arguments, and come to your own conclusion

It is believed by some that in an effort to decrease energy consumption, forcing the implementation of taxes on fossil energy (oil, coal, and gas) is needed. However, the issue is not entirely straightforward, and arguments can also be made against the idea. This essay will discuss the debate, and give a concluding view. On the one hand, those who support the taxation of non-renewable fuel promote that higher prices will lead to lower consumption. This will surely help the development of green energy, as people slowly will start to use them if the prices of traditional gas is more expensive. Take Sweden for example, after imposing a higher tax number, many its citizen switched to reneawble power for their daily uses. Furthermore, supportes of fuel taxes claim that the funds raised can then be used to subsidise renewable energy projects such as solar and localised biofuel reactors. However, opponents of this view are able to point out that there are many countries where higher taxes have apparently not reduced demand for such fuels. For instance, in France rather than switching to clean energy, due to the lack of alternatives, many citizens have been forced people to pay more, which appears to penalize those who can least afford it. Hence, the operation of fuel tax can be successfully implemented if there is an already established alternative for people to use, which requires lots of funding from the governments. Overall, I would tend to side with the opponents of fuel taxation. It seems to be unreasonableto unreasonable force vulnerable consumers to pay morefor a commodity which is essential to them, without a real infrastructure for renewable energy being in place. It would be more logical to improve availability of renewables first, which would allow consumers to make a genuine choice.