If people go to live in another country, they should follow local customs and traditions. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that these individuals who settle down abroad are supposed to adapt to the rules and traditions of the host country. While there are many reasons why they tip the balance in favour of sticking to their national customs, I completely agree with this proposal and I do believe that they can benefit a lot from getting used to these new cultures. On the one hand, I understand the opinion that individuals should stick to their home customs and maintaining their original customs can bring benefits to both the new inhabitants themselves and the host country. To begin with, it is reasonable behaviour for immigrants to inherit their nation’s culture and language, which shows their loyalty and belongingness to their motherland which deserves to be praised. Besides, in this way, they can promote cultural exchange and spread their local cultures and customs beyond the national border, which may protect the minority’s traditions and conserve the diversity in cultural heritage among all mankind. Furthermore, their loyalty can further enrich the lives in the target country and inject freshness into these nations, For example, all people around the world might learn to dress up to celebrate the coming of Halloween. However, it is more advantageous to adjust themselves according to the cultures in the target country. Firstly, the behaviour would help them to avoid the feeling of being lonely overseas and cultivate a sense of inclusivity among these immigrants. In addition, they need to settle down in the new environment and make a living. For instance, if they did not respect and accept these customs, it would have detrimental impacts on their settlement and their career path. Lastly, this effort would enable them to integrate with others more quickly and make friends easily, which reduces the possibility to be excluded and promote the prestige of their nations. In conclusion, I can understand why they want to maintain their old customs, but I would argue that it is more beneficial for them to comply with the traditions in the destination.