Houses are essential for people. Some people think that the government should offer free houses for people who cannot afford to pay for it. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

In today’s society, houses are necessary for everyone, thus some people argue that for those who do not have the ability to buy a house, the government has the responsibility to provide free houses for them. In my opinion, I tend to disagree with this point of view. The phenomenon that more and more young people cannot afford to pay for a house is ubiquitous nowadays. This is due to an increase in the unemployment rate and a decrease in disposable income, and also a rise in the price of houses. Therefore, it is challenging for people to buy houses. For instance, recent research done by China shows that, in the past ten years, the portion of people who do not have their own houses experienced a dramatic increase. So it is impossible for the government to give each of them a free house, this will not only increase the pressure on the government budget but also foster people ’s dependence. Moreover, if the government offer free houses for people, this will make people lose their motivation for work, which can decrease productive efficiency and thus lower the country’s GDP. On the other hand, although it is impossible for the government to provide free houses, the government can give subsidies to those people who have problems on buying houses or those people who have income lower than the average income. As a result, people can have a chance to purchase houses without losing their passion for working. In a nutshell, I believe that it is not the government's responsibility to give free houses, people ought to own houses through their own effort.