The personal information of many individuals is held by large internet companies and organizations. Do you think the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In recent days, large internet corporations and institutions are owning individuals' private data. I believe this condition creates more disadvantages compared to the advantages. First of all, the positive points that we have if our info is being stored by organisations and internet companies are, it is easier to proceed with administration tasks such as making identity cards or passports, opening a bank account or simply just buying some stuff online. However, the probability of being hacked will be causing a bigger risk of data leaks by the company. This situation usually caused by the companies who owned our data are not securing the data properly. For example, a big company like Facebook had experienced their user's data leaking several times. The data was then sold anonymously in a black market at a very expensive price. Hence, people whose data are scattered more often will receive spam on their mobile phones or emails. Moreover, in the era of social media, people also will experience more cybercrime cases especially when it is not only personal information provided but also combined with their photo. The perpetrators will use all of this advice to start profiling their victims. For example, sexual harassment through social media is rising recently and the perpetrators are very professional and make their victims believe in them because they know all of their information. Then, it is important to keep your account private and not trust people that you meet through social media easily. In conclusion, even though it is efficient for us to have our data stored by some corporations or institutions, the chance of being a victim of cyber crimes is bigger than merely being efficient.