Some people think that universities should provide graduates with the knowledge and skills needed in the workplace. Others think that the true function of a university should be to give access to knowledge for its own sake, regardless of whether the course id useful to an employer. What, in your opinion, should be the main function of a universities?

It’s arguable whether colleges should focus on practical skills more than knowledge in order to provide students with useful skills for their jobs after graduation. From my point of view, I believe the main function of a university is to offer opportunities for students to explore their own interests and passions regardless it practical or not. In other words, I believe universities should not emphasise narrowly on the skills that may seem helpful in the workplace. Firstly, i believe college is a place that allows students to ask questions than find answers. It’s a privilege that students in university can apply for different classes and observe as many subjects as they want in order to get a better knowledge of the world. For example, a student who majors in finance should not be objected to subjects such as arts or politics. Although these subjects may not help them find a nice job with higher salaries but will definitely nurture their life and broaden their horizon. Secondly, it is important for students to explore their personalities as well as lifetime passion in college, because after they start to work, there will be no sufficient time for them to ponder on those questions. For instance, students in college should read a variety of books and cultivate an interest in self-education. As a result, they will not become an boring adult whose interests focus only on making money in the future. In conclusion, this essay believes students in universities should not only enrich their knowledge by attending dynamic subjects but also be encouraged to develop their own perspectives toward the world. I strongly believe the responsibilities of a university should not be short-sightly focused on teaching students how to make a great fortune but make sure they prepared to engage in society as an adult. In sum, the main function of education is to enlighten people’s interest in knowledge, by doing so, a person is enabled to pursue wisdom on their own throughout their life.