Around the world, people are now living longer than ever before in the past. Some say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Others believe there are benefits to society having more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of possessing an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

The longevity of people has increased worldwide. While some argue that living longer poses problems for the government, others believe that the elderly have a positive impact on society While there are some advantages associated with an increase in the aging of population, I believe that the main drawbacks are more substantial. On the one hand, a potential advantage may benefit from old-timers. Since skills and experiences are acquired through years of working, the elderly have made it possible to convey their experiences to the younger generation. In business, where people tend to be ambitious, the advice of a versatile elderly person is extremely useful. Another benefit is that having an aging population leads to economic growth. As they are more likely to invest their money in banks, the government ’s revenue would rise which could be invested it in public areas. Thus, there is a good chance that society will be able to take advantage of the aged. On the other hand, a primary disadvantage of the rise in the number of old people is increasing healthcare costs. To clarify, as different forms of mental and physical diseases occur, at times, in old age, the costs of healthcare services would upset both individuals and governments. A further negative is pensions. When the elderly retire, the amount of retirement costs and pensions that should be paid would increase which could put the government on the verge of tight budgets. For instance, the government may be impelled to impose more taxes to finance retirement benefits. Ergo, the government might face financial problems. On balance, it is true that the elderly would occasionally be useful as skilled workers and a source of wealth. However, in my view, its negative effects on healthcare costs as well as retirement expenditures override the advantages.