Some people agree that the best way to become successful in life is to get the university education. Others disagree with it and reckon that nowadays it is no longer true. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The purpose of higher education has been a subject of debate for decades. While some claim that it is no longer necessary to go to college to succeed in life, I believe university education still has an overall impact on one’s life. It is true that success is possible without a college degree. Although some industries are more likely to require diplomas and certificates, such as fields of psychology or hard sciences, many others rely more on related skills; for instance technology and business. There are plenty of CEOs of tech firms who have built billion-dollar companies without finishing tertiary education. Nevertheless, the truth is that a college degree is still a rite of passage for many careers. When hiring candidates in a field, employers prefer those who have completed a higher level of education. This is because educational requirements are quick and easy ways to narrow down the pool of applicants, especially when there are more than enough job hunters. Indeed, the fewer years of education one has completed, the fewer doors are open to him or her. More importantly, the role of college is to provide learning communities where prepared minds are nurtured. As members of these communities, students are not information recipients who acquire knowledge in a passive way; instead, they are challenged to achieve their potential and indeed to excel. Therefore, universities offer learning conditions that encourage students to remain curious; to value diversity in opinions; to think critically and to communicate effectively. In this way, students can gain problem-solving experience and confidence, and this process contributes to the development of their abilities and personalities, which is the key to a successful life. Overall, being successful does not necessarily hinge on a college degree, but for most high school graduates, the pursuit of higher learning is paramount to future success in today’s world.