Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People hold different opinions about whether to pursue advanced study at university or go to work directly after graduation from school. From my perspective, though both choices have their advantages, university education are more significant to an individual's career success. In one hand, it is argued that getting a job straight after school is more beneficial to one's development. To begin with, it is helpful to promote technical skills. Through repeat practice at workplace, people are more likely to put the theoretical knowledge learned from classes into actual application and adjust it according to diverse situations since practice makes perfect. Moreover, since office staff is more exposed to diverse people than students, the communicative and interpersonal competence that is essential to a successful career could be more sufficiently acquired, which even contributes to broaden interpersonal network and lay the foundation of proud success. In the other hand, receiving advanced education at colleges is recommended to be the brightest path to win professional triumph. Universities provided students with more systematic and specialized education, so that they can set up all-around and multi-layer knowledge network. For instance, compare with the common history courses given to senior-high school students, the specialized history courses taught to undergraduates and postgraduates cover a wider range of content and involve deeper levels, which offer those undergraduates and postgraduates more opportunities to achieve higher achievements in the future. Having obtained university education is beneficial in strengthening graduates’ employment competitiveness and rising their initial employment level. For example, university graduate could win more chances to endeavor to a higher salary, to be employed as a manager and to be promoted than holders of the General Certificate of Education. In conclusion, whether it is direct employment or further study, there are certain benefits to people. Going to work directly is very helpful to improve an individual's working ability, but further study at university would be more rewarding to his or her long-term development due to the opportunities brought about by a higher level of knowledge. Hence I believe the later is really the most recommended way to make a successful career.