Some countries achieve international sports by building specialised facilities to train top athletes, instead of providing sports facilities that everyone can use. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

It is observed that global prestige is achieved by constructing specific premises to upskill elite professionals in lieu of offering play facilities for public use in some parts of the world. I believe that this has detrimental impacts on citizens, despite the fact that it can create favourite conditions for contestants to prosper. On the one hand, the erection of specialized furniture for training talented players can facilitate their capacities. This is because outstanding sportspeople can be given better chances to further improve themselves, enabling them to maximise their potential. Therefore, they can give optimal performances in global competitions and are more likely to achieve rewards and success in sports, making great contributions to national achievements in this field. For instance, the Vietnamese government provided funds to establish football institutions such as Hoang Anh Gia Lai to train and support children who have innate abilities. As a result, numerous young talented football players such as Xuan Truong and Tuan Anh were trained intensively and excelled in football matches, enhancing the position of Vietnam in international sports. On the other hand, this propensity can induce two noticeable drawbacks. Chief of these is that it adversely affects public health. More specifically, as the state budget is spent on building apparatus for training top competitors in lieu of providing community play machinery, there would be a shortage of open areas such as parks, gardens and squares which offer an abundance of resources for free exercise. Consequently, fewer places are offered for residents to exercise, potentially encouraging a sedentary lifestyle in the community and weakening citizens’ well-being. Another drawback is that it can trigger great dissatisfaction among citizens. As they pay taxes to enrich the government budget they may argue they deserve to receive free fitness equipment and spaces and may feel discontent if the state funding is allocated to serve a small number of recipients only. In conclusion, although investing in specialized material for professional sports people only can enhance their performances and improve a nation’s standing, I maintain that its consequences including deteriorating public health and generating dissatisfaction among individuals in society are more significant.