With the increase of digital media available online, the role of the library has become obsolete. Universities should only procure digital materials rather than constantly textbooks. Discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of this position and give your own point of view.

In today's digital era, online platforms have gained significant popularity. Some people believe that, with the advent of technology, the usage of these platforms has increased considerably, which in turn, will decline the utility of libraries. Therefore, education institutes must restrict themselves from obtaining materials from the web as compared to physical books. This essay will discuss the pros and cons of this system and why I think that the disadvantages of this setup outweigh its advantages. To begin with, one of the greater impacts the workbook provide is convenience. It reduces the hassle of setting up tablets and laptops beforehand. For instance, my younger brother always prefers studying from textbooks as it comes in handy and is very convenient. Moreover, this way is also preferred by the larger student community as it is very cost-effective. For example, the cost of buying a subscription is much more than buying a textbook. In a nutshell, universities will deprive many readers of this convenience if they stop procuring textbooks. Nevertheless, a larger population don't believe in investing their energy to keep their physical reading materials tidy.Maintaining textbooks is difficult as compared to the sources of digital media like Kindle or laptops. That is, many books are torn out and become unreadable after a few months if used excessively or handled poorly. Additionally, It's easier to obtain content on the web rather than going to a library. Hence, institutions can do away with this hassle if they provide much of the content online. To conclude, I have discussed a couple of advantages and disadvantages of this position. However, I think schools must keep a good balance between digital reading platforms as well as physical books as it plays a key part in ensuring the reader's overall experience.