A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think that the government should increase spending on defence but spend less on social benefits. To what extent do you agree? Essay Outline

It is no doubt that government should impose regulations to take care of its citizens, and most argue that they should reduce the expenditure on social benefits and invest in defence methods. I partially agree with the above statement because, to create a safe and secure society, both governmental laws and individual cooperation are necessary. Firstly, even though the leadership imposes strict rules, there are people who will surpass that and indulge in various criminal activities. Even in most developed countries, there are still complaints of terrorism, racism and a lot of other issues. The strict laws and penalties have never helped them achieve 100% success in defending these issues. For example, the immigration department in countries like USA and Canada have imposed strict conditions for migration however there are a few percentage of people who get involved in illegal practices with respect to their qualifications or job, and deportation complaints have not been reduced. Secondly, in some nations like India, the migration laws and certain other departments do not have strict rules, and owing to that, the corruption levels and standard of living are never improving. Apart from the educational advances, and improvement in education standards of younger people, still, criminal complaints and safety issues are continuing to prevail because the government did not pass strict rules and the constitution is based on non-violence criteria. Hence, in this case, it aligns with the statement that the country should also spend on defence regulations. In conclusion, overall even though many nations suffer from problems like the inability of the authority to impose strict defence methods, it has also not been proven effective in some developed countries as well. Therefore, to achieve a crimeless society, a balance is required where plenty of cooperation is provided by the citizens for the strict regulations passed by the government.