In some countries, crime rates are increasing. What are the causes of this problem? What can be done about it?

It is true that crime rates are rising in many parts of the world. Given that this trend can lead to a whole host of other social issues, including unrest, I believe that identifying the underlying causes is key to finding solutions. There are several causes contributing to higher crime rates in many countries. First, the lack of resources and personnel can result in low rates of prosecution and conviction of criminals, leading to a society of impunity. For example, The Democratic Republic of the Congo has the highest crime rate in the world due to its weak and underfunded justice system, making it a challenging environment for both citizens and foreigners. Second, high levels of poverty and unemployment can inflate a country's crime rate. In fact, if poor people cannot make a living and become starved, they will be more likely to engage in theft and robbery in order to survive. Nevertheless, there is a number of solutions to help make the number of criminals drop. Stricter laws and more severe sentences can act as a deterrent for people to commit crimes. Realizing that the costs of breaking a law were higher would make any potential criminal think twice before doing so. In addition, augmenting law enforcement is key. For instance, hiring more police and providing training for them can help ensure laws are enforced, especially in big cities or densely populated areas. In short, the causes of the trend are associated with weak justice systems and high poverty levels. Although it might be difficult to reverse, I believe governments can take steps to address it by passing and enforcing stricter laws.