Space travel has been possible for some time and some people believe that space tourism could be developed in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, many people think that space tourism will become a reality in the future, as space travel becomes more feasible. While it might bring some benefits for people, it is still under debate. In this essay, I will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of this assertion and offer my perspective. On one hand, the development of space technology and science could bring benefits for many industries worldwide, such as the material and fuel industries, playing an important role in boosting economies around the world. Moreover, space tourism will create more job opportunities, especially within industries and areas involved in this service or in these regions nearby, which can help residents enhance their incomes and foster financial growth in these regions. Additionally, supporting industries related to space tourism services will receive more investment and attention. For example, Elon Musk, the founder of SpaceX, a space exploration technology corporation, has invested hundreds of millions to research and explore space tourism opportunities while supporting missions for the International Space Station (ISS). On the other hand, with its expensive cost, the space tourism industry may only be accessible to the wealthy, widening the gap between the rich and the poor. Therefore, only a few individuals can afford this service, while the rest of the world may not be able to pay for it. For example, the price of a ticket to travel to Mars costs $250,000 per person which is four to five times higher than the average annual earnings of an American. Furthermore, establishing a tourism industry in space could contribute to polluting Earth’s orbit, leading to increasingly dangerous space debris. Finally, tragic/ serious accidents like the disasters of Columbia in 2003 and the Challenger in 1986 have raised concerns regarding the safety of tourists participating in space travel, as well as ethical questions surrounding the business of this high-risk service. In conclusion, although this development has concerns relating to passenger safety, the rich and poor gap, and space pollution, it could bring benefits such as improvements in economies in different fields. Hence, in my opinion, I believe space tourism could be a more positive development.