Scientists predict in the near future cars will be driven by computers, not people. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

According to scientists’ prediction, in the near future, computers will replace the role of car drivers. This essay will discuss the advantages and drawbacks of this viewpoint and my personal perspective will be illustrated in the conclusion. On the one hand, there are some detrimental flaws that are found in trials for artificial intelligent drivers. To begin with, those mechanical ones cannot adapt to all-terrain, especially with quickly changing environments. For example, they cannot process how to deal with some types of extreme weather such as sudden storms. Subsequently, those programmed drivers might be attacked by hackers who have bad intentions. For instance, they can reprogram all the auto-driving vehicles and cause a detrimental accident. On the other hand, it is obvious that computer drivers have their benefits. Firstly, they can significantly decrease the number of accident cases that relate to roads. It is said that ninety per cent of route accident cases involve human factors. Secondly, those kinds of vehicles can allow people that are not qualified for driving such as the elderly or disabled people to go out on their own. For example, people who are mobile disabled now can go sightseeing without the aid of others such as nurses and staff. In conclusion, although there are negative impacts related to safety such as the adaptation before sudden changes and the protection from hackers’ attacks, the advantages of artificial intelligent drivers including decreasing accident numbers and allowing a more varied range of people to go out outweigh their consequences