n some countries today, people are having their first child when they are older. What are the reasons for this? Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, people are becoming parents at older ages. In my opinion, I consider that this may be caused by economic and maturational aspects as people are more worried about stability and they also want to enjoy their youth. Of course, this tendency may cause positive and negative effects on societies. However, I think that its benefits are much higher than its drawbacks. To begin with, having a child in the present implies a huge economical effort as supporting a child could be incredibly expensive. In this sense, it has been claimed that 70% of women have their first child after 35 years old and the first reason they declare is that it takes many years to settle and be well established before deciding to create a family. In addition to this, another reason for this “delay” in having children is due to the extension of the teenager in which young adults do not want to take the enormous responsibility of becoming a parent “so soon”. Many statistics showed that the majority of youngers do not feel prepared to be a mother and a father. In other words, after their 30’s they commence to settle and consider jumping to the next level. Additionally, having the first child at an older age brings many benefits. For instance, in the past, women were designated to be a wife and raise their children but now this changed, and women are living differently, studying and working the same or even more than men. The benefits of this are that women can also have a life completely different and be themselves, but this is also happening to men as they also prefer to “live” other experiences before becoming a father. In other words, enjoying the freedom of being yourself without no one depending on you lets you live numerous experiences. Despite the benefits this tendency may bring, there are also some drawbacks related to the decrease in the young population in some societies. For example, many European countries are currently facing this issue which may affect their prosperity. This is a serious situation that compromises the near future. In conclusion, becoming a parent at an older age may be caused by the financial situation of the family as well as the desire of living in the youth for more time than it lasted before, enjoying different experiences. Even if this situation brings some negative effects on society such as a decrease in the population, the benefits outweigh by far their drawbacks due to the possibilities that appear when you do not have dependents being able to enjoy personal freedom, especially for women, who are being included into the world as an equal, which represents having a career and becoming a mother later than before.