Write an essay about the benefits and drawbacks of visiting exotic locations for a vacation

Tourists are now preferring to visit areas which are unhabitable such as the Antarctic or the Sahara desert. In this essay, I will explore the benefits and drawbacks of roaming these destinations Exploring remote destinations will lead to an experience unlike any other. This is because only a handful of people have set foot on these landscapes, let alone enjoyed their vacation in these unforgiving terrains. For example, one can visit the vast plains of the Sahara desert where no creature has ever been which means they can then boast to their family and friends about walking on the earth where no one has ever gone before. Furthermore, enduring these harsh conditions will improve their character. This is because when tourists are faced with difficulties, they are able to grow as individuals. This is proven by a recent study published by the University of Oxford, where individuals who overcome adversity are able to improve hormonal balance as cortisol, the stress hormone, is regulated effectively. This means when they are forced to face difficult situations, these individuals are able to perform better under pressure, hence going through a challenging journey will result in growth. But on the other hand, wondering remote locations will prevent an easy rescue by emergency services. This is due to the fact that ambulances will be unable to reach the explorers in time if an accident has occurred that resulted in life-threatening injuries. This is proven by the statistical review done by the British National Association of Paramedics, where they revealed that the average response time in a first-world country, like the UK, was twenty minutes. This illustrates that even in the most developed nations, it is very difficult to reach patients in time and if voyagers get lost, it would be nearly impossible to save them in such circumstances. There is also the cost of the whole vacation which would be significantly more than a normal holiday as other arrangements would be needed to comfortably carry out this adventure. For instance, temperatures in the Antarctic reach negative thirty degrees, which means tourists would need special equipment to keep warm as a result the price of the vacation would increase drastically. In conclusion, visiting exotic locations has both benefits such as enjoying a unique experience and improving one's character; however, if adventures require emergency services then it would be nearly impossible to conduct a rescue operation and the price of such an experience would also be significantly higher than a regular holiday.