When designing a building, the most important factor is the intended use of the building rather than its outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Architects are often struggling to decide whether the design of a construction should be based on its form and beauty or its functionality. In this essay, I will argue that the intended use ought to be considered the most important factor in building a structure as it is the essential factor for its residents as well as the fact that beauty trends would wear off over time. One of the main reasons for the preference for function over outward appearance is the people who will use the building. In spite of enjoying aesthetics, they have more pragmatic concerns as to whether the construction can perform their services, such as its safety or its capability to withstand any kind of load or even functionality of elevator and sufficiency of rooms. By contrast, if only aesthetic values were concerned in the design while neglecting serviceability, the residents would suffer the consequences. Moreover, standards of beauty change rapidly. This is because people’s tastes alter as time goes by, and as a result, the aesthetic values of buildings would wear off over time and be supplanted by other forms of beauty. For instance, the implementation of Granit sand on constructions as their facade was extremely popular in the 1990s whereas other types of facade decorations have now superseded it. Hence, as the novelty of the outward appearance of structures reduces over time, it is logical to invest more in functionality rather than beauty. In conclusion, I would argue that the main focus of structural designers should be on the practicality and serviceability of the building on the grounds that performance is crucial for people who live in it; in addition to spending on appearance being vain as it will lose its value over time.