In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough. What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

There is no doubt that these days, every parents support their children and tell them that they are capable of doing anything if they want to. The question is, what are the pros and cons of giving your children such a message? In this essay, I’m going to discuss the advantages and disadvantages of giving your children this message. To start, the positive sides of giving your child this message, is that you will encourage them to be successful people. In other words, when you tell your children this message, they will overcome any obstacles they go through. Also, telling them that they can achieve anything they go through will make them feel confident. To illustrate, telling you children supportive talk will make them believe in their abilities and boost their confidence. Finally, when you tell your children that they can achieve anything they want they will get more motivated. However, this message can have negative sides too. And one of them is, some children are not capable of achieving their dreams, even if they tried hard. The reason given to support this claim is, no one is capable of achieving everything they want, and giving them such a false hope will have a negative impact on them. For instance, if you told your child that he can achieve something and he didn’t achieve it, even though he tried hard. This will result him to feel guilty, unlike if his parents told him that it is acceptable to fail sometimes. In conclusion, I believe that the pros are better than the cons since most of successful people are those whose parents told them that they can achieve anything they want if they put their mind into it.