Organized tours to remote areas and communities are increasingly popular. What are advantages and disadvantages of this trend?

Technological advancements and globalization have brought people closer day by day with increased accessibility. Nowadays, access to remote places and communities in the form of planned trips has become increasingly popular. This essay will outline the benefits to the tourism industry and spreading cultural-traditional values. It will also explain the disadvantages caused due to such development. Organized trips to secluded places have been on the rise in the twentieth century leading to two main benefits. First and foremost, the local tourism industry is spurt with growth owing to such activities. Statue of Unity, for instance, helped the Government of India to develop a tourism hub, which in turn, increased revenues for hotel, restaurant, and recreational companies. In addition, cultural and traditional values of the area, have the potential to be spread across the world, with tourists visiting from across the world and further fetching more visitors. Consequently, such developments seem to be beneficial in the longer run. On the other hand, there are two major drawbacks leading to such a development. Owing to the increased number of visitors, public menace is on the rise. This, in turn, results in increasing land, noise and environmental pollution. Moreover, the usage of governmental resources is stressed leading to dissatisfied tourists and a potentially bad name in the industry. Additionally, increasing access to remote forests leads to devastating consequences to wildlife and their habitat which can ultimately disturb the ecosystem. Gir Sanctuary, for instance, saw a drop in the Lion population from the date park was open for safari travel. In conclusion, although there lies a few disadvantages related to the potential loss of habitat to animals and humans along with overly-stressed public services usage, however, in my view, the advantages far overpower the disadvantages, and with careful planning and execution, excessive benefits can be reaped.