Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or diagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Over the last few decades our world has advanced to an unimaginable rhythm however it did not bring just scientifical discoveries and healthcare improvements, it also brought serious issues, one of them being pollution, some argue that the best way to solve pollution problems it's by increasing the price of petrol which would lead to solving traffic and thus pollution, I agree with the statement but even so, I believe that there are other measures that we can take to limit contamination to the minimum possible. A study from 2017 showed that the higher gasoline prices reduce traffic flows with an average size effect of -0.04, also, people tend to take more public transportation on peak hours reducing pollution overall, additionally, another investigation from 2020 revealed that it does not only reduce traffic flow but by every 1% increased in fuel price there is a 0.4% reduction in the number of fatal road traffic accidents, without a doubt the growth of petrol price reduces not only but also, traffic and as a result pollution and vehicle-involved accidents. Although what has already been mentioned can greatly reduce pollution, it is extremely important that one stick to these measures if he is interested in reducing even more environmental pollution, which are recycling and reusing, limiting the use of plastic bags, using fans instead of air conditioner and afforestation. To sum up, what has already been mentioned, I believe that increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve pollution and traffic problems, however, there are other measures that can also help take care of this issue.