Topic 8: Students should be taught academic knowledge so that they can pass exams, and skills such as cooking or dressing should not be taught. To what extent do you agree/disagree?

It is often argued what kind of education should be given to students. While many parents consider that schools should not bother their students with the teaching of skills such as dressing or cooking, I think that we should teach them a combination of both academic and social awareness. On the one hand, most people think that it is a waste of time to teach students how to cook or dress. In their opinion, social awareness such as cooking or dressing is very cumbersome and it takes a long time for them to absorb. They may not be old enough to understand such knowledge. We can teach additional subjects to supplement the ability in that field instead of teaching about the skills. For example, most schools organize extra lessons to prepare for the test. On the other hand, despite the reasons mentioned above, learners should be impacted by the knowledge of both. It helps them to balance their ability and other aspects of life. Although having good marks at school is so significant, eating good food or dressing well is also good for their life. It helps them improve their skills in clothing and food in keeping them healthy. In conclusion, students should keep maintaining a balance between academic work and social life such as cooking or dressing.