As well as making money, businesses also have social responsibilities. Do you agree or disagree?

In light of achieving economic growth by reaping financial benefits from individuals, the question of whether companies have sufficiently contributed back to society has been a topic of public interest lately. One possible belief that some people, myself included, advocate is that enterprises, along with generating profit, are also obliged to fulfill social responsibilities. Opponents of companies bearing social responsibilities cite the fact that these businesses have indirectly contributed to the community just by being major taxpayers, and thus the government, the main beneficiary of such tax levy, should be held accountable for social contributions. However, this thinking fails to factor in the untimeliness of any government actions, as evidenced by the fact that it would take a long time for a bill to be in effect because it has to go through complicated procedures until it can be sanctioned. That being the case, any policies issued by the government may fail to address local residents’ immediate problems such as poverty or lack of public infrastructure. This is why corporations should be a part of the social fabric and play a positive role in addressing societal challenges, by building roads or doing charitable works to lift up the standards of living of local dwellers. Moreover, not only do the timely decisions of businesses allow them to solve short-term problems for the locals, but also enable them to promote ecology sustainability in the long run. By considering the environmental impact of their operations, enterprises can adapt to evolving environmental expectations and promote the well-being of their employees. Therefore, if no liability is borne, companies will not invest in waste treatment systems to cut costs and discharge toxic industrial byproducts directly into the sewers, which would likely take a toll on wildlife and local residents for decades. This effect can be seen in the case of Formosa, a steel company located near the southern coast of Vietnam, releasing waste into the ocean and devastating marine life as well as the water source of local dwellers. This is a testament to the importance of corporate social responsibility in preserving the environment. In conclusion, I strongly support the belief that businesses should be responsible for the locality around their operating areas, considering the significant impact they have on residents' lives.